Guinness weakens its brand by releasing Black Lager

So Guinness has just released it’s new Black Lager and I don’t like it. I don’t like it one bit. Like many, I was introduced to dark beer, or “good beer” through my first pint of Guinness. (In my case, at Summers Restaurant in Arlington at an age that the restaurant nor the Commonwealth of Virginia would appreciate me sharing). I love the stuff.

That’s why it pains me to see the legendary Dublin brewery weakening its brand and reputation by releasing this mediocre product (BA scores it a ‘C’ and RateBeer rates it a 2.87 out of 5) in order to attract more younger and female drinkers. If it wants to branch off and do other beers, fine. But from the minute I learned of its new Black Lager, I knew what it would be – a softened, watered down, less complex version of its stout designed for drinkers who are “intimidated” by the flavor and (more so) the reputation of the stout.

That’s a product I can most definitely live without.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Commentary, Drink

3 Comments on “Guinness weakens its brand by releasing Black Lager”

  1. September 8, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    I haven’t seen it yet but I’ll give a try. It does seem like a curious new product.

  2. Michael
    September 20, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Where can I find this stuff in Nova? Live in Herndon.

    • September 26, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      I know I saw some at my local shop, Norm’s Beer and Wine, in Vienna. I’m sure it’s at Total Beverages as well and there’s one of those in Chantilly.

Leave a Reply

