What are the most overrated sweets or desserts?

Sam and I argue a lot. We don’t really argue, as no one is upset really, so I guess it’s more of a debate. Anyway, now that I’ve established that we’re not the Gallaghers, a few weeks back we were having one of our usual debates.

Was it about politics? Nope.

Was it over sports? No.

Was it over which brother has more gray hairs despite both of us being in our 20s? No, but it’s so him, by the way.

Nope, it was about Skittles.

 

Yep, Skittles. I hate them. I hate their flavor. I hate their texture.

I hate the fact they masquerade as M&Ms only to in fact be filled by the most vile of barely fruit-like gummy stuff rather than chocolate.My brother loves them as he has since he was little. I only think he likes them because it’s one of the few varieties of candy he could have around me without any risk or me trying to steal any off him.

That got me thinking, what are the most overrated desserts, sweets or candies. What are the kinds of things that everyone else apparently likes but that you simply cannot stomach for any reason. Here’s my list, please feel free to add your own items in the comments.

  • Skittles – I don’t like most fruit candies (and don’t get me started on sour candies) but Skittles are simply the worst for the reasons I elaborated above.
  • When is fudge ever good?

    Fudge – And by fudge, I mean the confectionery that gets thrusted at you on any Atlantic beach, not the far better thing one pours over a sundae. I tried some allegedly good fudge with my girlfriend this past month in Corolla, NC with my girlfriend, and subsequently feigned a cellphone call to ensure that we could gracefully get away without having to buy any of the stuff. Fudge is so deceptive because it comes in all these ostensibly good flavors like chocolate, mint chocolate and peanut butter, but whenever I bite into it, all I taste is sugar – lots and lots of sugar. Additionally, crystalized sugar, it always seems to have this really grainy, granulated sugar consistency that I don’t particularly like. What would anyone ever choose fudge over, say, a brownie, or even a halfway good chocolate chip cookie? I have no idea.

  • Jawbreakers – Another Sam favorite, I dislike these less for the taste than the eating method. Since they can’t be bitten into, you must lick or suck on them but without a stick, they inevitably leave your hand covered in sugary goo and your lips totally sticky. Also, these are often too big to finish in one sitting but too disgusting to want to keep as a leftover. Sam used to put these in ziploc bags to finish later, and there are few things grosser than coming upon someone else’s half-licked jawbreaker, even if it is in a ziploc bag.

    Difficult to eat, impossible to store

  • Marshmallow Peeps – I know its cliche, but that doesn’t make them any less disgusting. Nor does the fact that their apparent cuteness have made them a chic thing to make dioramas out of. The world would be a better place if Peeps embraced their natural role as building material.

What do you think are the most overrated sweet or dessert? Tell us in the comments.

Tags:

Categories: Candy, Commentary

9 Comments on “What are the most overrated sweets or desserts?”

  1. May 27, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    As with nearly everything else, Aaron, you’re wrong about Skittles and fudge (although I wouldn’t eat them together). Maybe I should be friends with your brother.

    That said, Jawbreakers and peeps have always been overrated. The only cool thing about jawbreakers was either seeing which color came next or having a contest over who could go the longest without biting it.

    Here’s an underrated snack: malted milk balls. I found a place that sells triple-dipped dark chocolate malted milk balls in bulk and, holy Christ, they’re awesome.

    • May 27, 2010 at 10:03 am #

      Only thing I’d say to that is that I don’t know anyone (at least anyone who like chocolate) who doesn’t LOVE malted milk balls. They’re outstanding. Even better in ice cream.

      • Janna
        May 27, 2010 at 10:53 am #

        Actually, I detest the malted milk ball. Strange, wafer-like consistency inside, when, really, it should just be filled with chocolate!

        I would like to nominate a new candy as this summer’s go-to chocolate candy–Godiva’s Key Lime truffles. The combination of rich chocolate and tart key lime is pure genius.

        Also, (and I know Sam disagrees) the new Coconut M&Ms are terrific. They are still hard to find, but some 7-Elevens in the DC area carry them. Look for a white package with a palm tree.

  2. Larry
    May 27, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Only a Yankees fan would diss malted milk balls….

    • May 27, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

      I’d like to add that I don’t approve of this comment.

  3. May 27, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    I’d like to add that it was a Yankees fan who mention malted milk balls in the first place…

  4. Sarah
    May 27, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    I hate malted milk balls and I’m not a Yankee’s fan AND I’m a fan of chocolate….You couldn’t pay me to eat them!

  5. MerrieA
    June 1, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    Why waste a perfectly good sweet craving or sweet calories on anything that’s not chocolate? I thought only people with palates like my 7-year-old liked things like sour skittles (sorry Sam).

  6. Steven Wynn
    April 29, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I’ll be 56 years old this year, and one of my regrets is that we didn’t have Skittles when I grew up in the 60’s. How can you hate them? They have intense fruit flavor. I can’t eat them without getting a headache though. If it wasn’t for that fact, I would have a pack in my pocket no matter how old I am. But I’ve noticed that young people nowadays aren’t that much into sweets. My nephew is like twenty. He hates Krispy Kreme doughnuts. I ask him how in the world do you hate Krispy Kreme doughnuts? He says they’re too sweet.

    But my overrated dessert has to be Nutter Butter banana Pudding. This recipe looks good. People talk about how great it tastes. I’ve fixed it twice now. People taste it and they say it’s great. But I don’t see it. There’s nothing special about it. I only fixed it twice because I felt I must have done something wrong at first. It’s banana pudding with Nutter Butter cookies for goodness sakes. And that’s exactly what it tastes like.

Leave a Reply

