French Fries and….Mayo?

Having recently posted about Belga Cafe and their glorious frites, I figured it was time to acknowledge that proper mayonnaise is, well, ridiculously good.  Admittedly, mayo used to fall into a wide category of food I wouldn’t touch.  This “white and mushy” category ranged from yogurt to cottage cheese to *gasp* whipped cream.  I was so young, so naive.  So, in honor of growing up and realizing that the majority of these white and mushy things are in fact brilliant (sans cottage cheese) I present to you Salon’s “Eyewitness Cook” (i.e. Francis Lam) and his explanation and recipe for homemade mayo.

Categories: Belgian, Commentary, Food

4 Comments on “French Fries and….Mayo?”

  1. April 28, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Yeah, cottage cheese is still gross. I guess I only like my cheese curds deep fried.

  2. Sam S.
    April 28, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    You probably put mayo on your day-after-thanksgiving leftover sandwich. What’s on that glorious sandwich? Gobble Gobble.

    • April 28, 2010 at 10:28 am #

      Please, I can live without the leftover turkey. Give me the stuffing, brussel sprouts, and dessert and I’m good to go.

      Yet again, I remind you that the turkey itself is overrated.

      When you bring me a roasted Thanksgiving duck (also a noble American bird), then we’ll talk leftovers.

      • May 3, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

        Goose, my friend, goose. Sets your crackling T’giving duck to shame.

Leave a Reply

